The Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) 9th Awards Ceremony

PSIPW 9th Award (2020)
22 Mar 2021 13:00 - 15:00
Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water

The Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) is an international award focusing on water-related scientific innovation and judged by leading scientists from around the world. Five prizes are bestowed every two years.

This event is being held virtually in conjunction with the United Nations General Assembly High-Level Meeting on the “Implementation of the Water-Related Goals and Targets of the 2030 Agenda.”


Statement of His Royal Highness


Virtual Event Programme



Winners for the Ninth Award (2020)

Leading international scientists with a diversity of backgrounds -- including materials science, chemistry, engineering and environmental science, as well as hydrology -- won the five prizes for a wide variety of relevant, groundbreaking solutions that promise to help provide needed drinking water to the world's people.

Creativity Prize

Worth US$ 266,000, the Creativity Prize, which is awarded to water-related interdisciplinary work that can rightly be considered a breakthrough in any water-related field. The work might be a body of research, an invention, or a new patented technology. It is by nomination only. Universities, university departments, research institutes, companies, and agencies can nominate scientists, researchers and inventors for this Prize. The Creativity Prize was shared by two winning teams, the team of Dr. Benjaming S. Hsiao and the team of Dr. Sherif El-Safty.

Specialized Prizes

Each of the four specialized prizes is worth US$ 133,000. Researchers, research teams, and organizations nominate themselves for these prizes:

The Surface Water Prize coves every aspect of the study and development of surface water resources. The Groundwater Prize awards work related to all aspects of the study and development of groundwater resources. The Alternative Water Resources Prize covers desalination, waste water treatment, and other non-traditional sources of water. The Water Management & Protection Prize addresses the use, management, and protection of water resources.

The winners of the four dedicated water specialist innovation prizes are Dr. Zbigniew Kundzewicz (Surface Water Prize), Dr. J. Jaime Gómez-Hernández (Groundwater Prize), Dr. Peng Wang ( Alternative Water Resources Prize), and Dr. Jay R. Lund  (Water Management and Protection Prize). Meet the PSIPW winners below.

Learn more about the Winners for the 9th Award.