The ESA-ESRIN Earth System Science Hub has 5 positions open for new Post-Docs (Internal Research Fellows)

As a Research Fellow, you will be part of the Earth System Science Hub a new science facility in European Space Agency (ESA) and center for networking and scientific collaboration among world-class researchers in ESA Member States (MS) and worldwide. The Hub will bring together young and senior scientists of different disciplines in Earth Observation (EO) and Earth System Science to contribute to develop the next generation of EO products and jointly address some of the major science challenges of this decade. 

You will be responsible for different activities including:

  • Undertaking advanced research activities addressing major observational gaps and scientific priorities in EO and Earth system science. Research will cover a wide range of innovative topics from the development of novel methods, algorithms and EO products to innovative Earth system and climate research.
  • Contribute to develop an advanced reconstruction of the Earth system establishing a solid scientific basis for the implementation and evolution of Digital Twin Earth, by undertaking collaborative research across domains in collaboration with ESA experts and international scientists and science teams.
  • Support the definition, technical supervision and coordination of scientific exploitation projects carried out by external teams of experts and scientists, in all areas of EO research and Earth system science.
  • Maintain a continuous dialogue with the scientific communities, including major international programmes and initiatives and partner space agencies (e.g., NASA) preparation of the scientific agenda driving future ESA activities and plans.

As a Research Fellow, you will be involved in the scientific activities of the Science Section within one of the following thematic priorities:

  • Hydrology and water cycle research
  • Terrestrial carbon cycle
  • Biodiversity
  • Ocean science
  • Polar science and cryosphere research
  • Atmosphere research

*You shall indicate in the proposal the preferred Theme.

Please note that applications are only considered from nationals of one of the following States: 

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Nationals from Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia, as Associate Member States, or Canada as a Cooperating State, can apply as well as those from Bulgaria and Cyprus as European Cooperating States (ECS).

Closing Date:

7 December 2022 23:59 CET/CEST

Please find more information here.